Matt Todd Running Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com Sat, 17 Mar 2018 08:10:07 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Mar 15, 2018 <p>Easy 4 miles in the mist. Averaged 7:55/mile.</p> Thu, 15 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 14, 2018 <p>1.5 mile warm up</p> <p>5x400 meter uphill sprints @5:55 pace (continuous loop with downhill recovery)</p> <p>1.5 mile cool down</p> <p>Good run! I felt like I really pushed myself, I want to start having some hills at least once a week so that I can put on some good leg strength and get faster. They&#39;ll probably get more strenuous eventually. I probably ate too many krispy kremes today haha but other than that things went well.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 14 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 13, 2018 Nice and slow today with Jaxon. 6 am came too early. Tue, 13 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 12, 2018 Went running last night by myself, even got to pop the ole shirt off for a while so #blessed. It's warm and I'm so pumped. My legs felt really strong today after the weekend. I took a nice slow warm up but I just had to go fast after that. I felt great! I think I'm definitely improving and will hopefully be back in decent shape soon. Splits were 8:14, 7:09, 6:43, 5:55. Mon, 12 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 10, 2018 <p>Accidentally ran on a race course this morning and everyone thought we were that last runners in... awk. Still good though, I wanted to keep going there at the end, it was like I had finally warmed up on the last mile.&nbsp;</p> <p>Splits were 8:10, 8:10, 8:05, 7:43, and 7:05</p> Sat, 10 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 09, 2018 <p>Ran up to the y parking lot in the afternoon. Felt super nice outside, I even popped the shirt off for a bit. Turns out we got like a 650 ft elevation gain over the course of about a mile and a half. That was pretty gnarly. Pace was about 8:40, which was really not too bad all thins considered.</p> Fri, 09 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 08, 2018 4 miles in the morning with Jaxon. I think that I am quickly getting in much better shape than he is. Initially we were about the same because it had been so long since I'd run, but he's never ran before so I think I'm getting back in the game a little quicker. I wanted to go a lot faster today but he was pretty winded. To be fair, I'm just super impressed that he's stuck with it so we'll. He's killing it. Honestly I probably need someone who forces me to take it easy right now so I don't hurt myself haha. Avg pace was 8:14 Thu, 08 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Mar 07, 2018 <p>Kept a pretty steady pace for this one, I was doing Finance all afternoon so I just got one in around 6. Shout out to the Jazz for their win tonight and to BYU for a valiant effort in the WCC tournament.&nbsp;</p> <p>Splits were 7:51, 7:43, 7:37, and 7:25</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 06, 2018 <p>Ran past the city centre temple.</p> Tue, 06 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Mar 05, 2018 <p>Easy 4 with Jaxon this morning.</p> <p>Shout out to Roger Bannister for being a fantastic example of what it means to push the limits of the human spirit. Sad to hear of his passing, but thankful for the legacy that he left behind.</p> Mon, 05 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Mar 03, 2018 <p>This was the longest run I&#39;ve done in about 8 months so that felt great. It was cool to just get outside of the usual bubble that I&#39;ve ran in so far and see some new things. You can&#39;t see a lot only going three miles a day haha.&nbsp;</p> <p>Kept it nice and easy, never pushed the pace. I feel like I ran far, but it was a good feeling. My splits were 8:12, 7:59, 7:43, 8:00, 7:54, and 7:44.</p> Sat, 03 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 02, 2018 <p>easy 3 miler, kinda bummed that I missed yesterday but I was studying for Finance literally all day long. ugggghhh. A little groggy this morning but we got it done.</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 28, 2018 <p>3 miles in the morning</p> Wed, 28 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 27, 2018 <p>I had a study session that I needed to make it to and all I kept thinking was that I needed to run fast if I was going to make it. So I ran fast. I felt pretty accomplished/exhausted after since it was the first time I&#39;ve ran a sub-20 3 mile in a little while.&nbsp;</p> <p>Splits were 7:02, 6:24, and 6:09</p> Tue, 27 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 26, 2018 <p>Ran with Jaxon past the City Centre temple this morning. It felt really good, I was hyped after. I think I ran Jaxon kinda fast haha but he survived. We went 7:56, 7:24, and 6:51</p> Mon, 26 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 24, 2018 <p>Almost died cause the whole thing was just running over snow and ice, but we made it.&nbsp;</p> <p>Longest run we&#39;ve done so far! Not too bad, kept it nice and slow at a 8:24/mile pace.</p> Sat, 24 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 23, 2018 <p>Nice and slow, but a lot of hills today.</p> <p>Shoulda gone in the morning before the snow hit, but I missed my chance and got to run in a blizzard with about 8 inches on the ground.</p> <p>Guess I could have just hit the gym and ran there but death comes before treadmills in my life.</p> Fri, 23 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 22, 2018 <p>Went a little faster today, I was by myself. Felt really good! mildly challenging, but over all very doable. Just slowly getting faster line upon line and precept upon precept as they say.</p> <p>Mile splits were 7:20, 7:02, 7:19, 7:16</p> Thu, 22 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 21, 2018 <p>Easy 3 mile with jaxon. I actually felt warmed up by the time we hit 3 miles haha. My body was telling me to keep going. I guess that&#39;s a good sign, maybe I&#39;ll attempt a 5 miler on Saturday.</p> Wed, 21 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 20, 2018 Woke up a bit late and only had time for 2 today. Hopefully I can get 4 on Saturday or something to make up. Tue, 20 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 19, 2018 <p>Got to run in the snow today! Played some basketball with the bros and then went for a quick 3 mile run. It was pretty cold and I felt like I was going really slow the whole time but it turns out that my pace was actually much faster than it has been the last few weeks. I was consistently around 7:30 and it averaged to a 7:33.&nbsp;</p> <p>I guess that&#39;s a good sign that I&#39;m starting to get into slightly better shape. I&#39;ll try to keep all of my runs this week sub-8 I think.</p> Mon, 19 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 16, 2018 Jaxon needed to sleep in this morning so I went solo. it wasn't too bad though because I got to go fast haha. I went 3 miles without stopping as kind of a tempo run I guess but my pace was all over the place. Miles were 7:35, 6:53, and 6:35. It was a bit challenging, but it felt really good! It also felt really cold, and my toes hurt for some reason haha. Anyways, we'll be in arches tomorrow hiking, I might try to get one more run in but I'll have to see how it goes. Fri, 16 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 15, 2018 Easy 3 mile night run. Almost forgot to run today haha but we got it in. Thu, 15 Feb 2018 07:00:00